Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 11%–18.2% (variable) |
|---|---|
| Introductory APR | 0% for 6 months |
| Cash advance APR | 14% |
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Late payment fee | up to $15 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 1% |
| Cash advance fee | Either $2.50 or 2% of each transaction, whichever is greater (maximum fee: $75). |
| Balance transfer fee | None |
| Grace period | 25 days |
| Minimum interest charge | $0 |
| Network | Mastercard |
Analysis
Pure terms conditions, as filed by Patelco Credit Union, carries a purchase APR of 11%–18.2%, no annual fee and a six-month 0% opening period. That purchase rate ranks near the 38th percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.
On the face of the filing
The document behind this page is Patelco Credit Union's filed agreement for Pure terms conditions. The filing runs one page, and It is issued on the Mastercard network.
Terms captured from the document include a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a foreign transaction fee. A balance transfer rate and a penalty rate are not stated.
Zero percent, and then what
A six-month promotional period at 0% is on the record here — during it, qualifying balances cost nothing to carry.
Roughly 458 of the 4,587 filings indexed here disclose a zero-percent introductory rate, so this is a real feature of the document but not a rare one.
Once the introductory period ends the rate becomes 18.2%, which turns a lingering $5,000 balance into approximately $998 of annual interest.
Valued honestly, six months at zero on $5,000 avoids about $499 of interest compared with the go-to rate — the whole of what the promotion delivers.
The purchase rate in context
This is a tiered agreement: the filing discloses a purchase APR anywhere from 11% to 18.2%, a spread of 7.2 percentage points. Which end of that band applies is set by the issuer at account opening and the filing does not say how.
The floor of that band sits at about the 15th percentile of filed purchase rates; the ceiling sits at about the 38th. In corpus terms the same card can be cheap or expensive depending on how it is priced.
This is disclosed as a variable rate. The number above is a snapshot: it tracks an index, so it changes without the agreement being amended.
What the rate means in dollars
Put $1,200 on the card and never reduce it, and twelve months of interest at the disclosed purchase rate comes to approximately $239.
Priced at the median of 21.99%, that balance would generate about $295 in a year — so this agreement comes in around $56 cheaper for the same debt.
Broken down to a single thirty-day cycle, the same balance accrues roughly $18.08.
These figures are arithmetic on the disclosed rate, not a quote: they assume the balance is never reduced, ignore any payments, and take no account of fees charged separately.
Fees, and what triggers them
There is no annual fee. That is the common case in this corpus — about 75% of the filings that disclose an annual fee at all disclose it as $0 — so it is a baseline expectation rather than a distinguishing feature.
Taking cash against the card means a cash advance fee of $2.50 or 2% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 14%. Advances under roughly $125 are charged the flat $2.50; larger ones are charged 2%. Cash advances also tend to fall outside any grace period, which means interest typically starts on day one rather than at the end of a billing cycle.
Foreign transactions attract 1%. On $1,500 of overseas spending that is $15, charged on top of whatever exchange rate applies.
When a payment is late
The maximum late fee is $15 — roughly the 11th percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.
Grace period and minimum charge
Anyone clearing the statement balance inside 25 days pays no purchase interest at all under this filing.
The filing sets the minimum interest charge at zero — small balances are not rounded up to a floor.
How it sits in the issuer's own range
There are 15 filings from Patelco Credit Union in this index. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 10.7% to 21.9%, and this one at 18.2% is more expensive than 2 of them.
What you cannot learn from the filing
The disclosure parsed here does not state penalty pricing. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.
Go to the source
This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — one page. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.
In short
The pricing here is middling by the standards of the index — 18.2% on purchases is near enough to typical. With no annual fee, the cost of the account is entirely a function of whether a balance is carried.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Patelco Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Patelco Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Patelco Credit Union
-
Points terms conditions
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 8.4%–16.9%
- Annual fee
- $0
-
Progress student terms conditions
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 12.65%–21.15%
- Annual fee
- $0
-
Business Banking Credit Card G
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 12.4%–21.9%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Foreign tx fee
- None
-
Pure secured terms conditions
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 10.7%
- Annual fee
- $0
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.