Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Preferred Credit

Retail Charge Agreement UR37 R

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 17%–18%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Retail Charge Agreement UR37 R
Purchase APR17%–18% (variable)
Late payment feeup to $35
Grace period25 days

Analysis

Retail Charge Agreement UR37 R, as filed by Preferred Credit, carries a purchase APR of 17%–18%. That purchase rate ranks near the 34th percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.

What the agreement puts on the record

Retail Charge Agreement UR37 R is one of the agreements Preferred Credit has on file with the CFPB. The filing runs six pages.

On the record here: a purchase rate, a late payment maximum and a grace period. No figure appears for a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and a penalty rate.

The disclosure table in this document parsed only moderately cleanly; the numbers are reported as read, with that caveat attached.

The purchase rate in context

Purchases price between 17% and 18% under this filing. The 1-point gap between the two is material, and nothing in the agreement indicates where a given account would land.

Those two numbers occupy very different places in the corpus: roughly the 45th percentile at the bottom and the 34th at the top.

Because the rate is variable, the figure quoted is tied to an index and will drift with it. Nothing here is a fixed commitment.

The arithmetic of revolving

The purchase rate turns a $1,000 revolving balance into roughly $197 of annual interest.

The corpus median purchase rate is 21.99%, which on the same $1,000 would cost about $246 a year. This filing saves roughly $49 annually against that benchmark.

Broken down to a single thirty-day cycle, the same balance accrues roughly $14.90.

That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.

Grace period and minimum charge

Purchases carry a 25-day grace period: pay the statement in full inside it and the purchase rate never applies. That matches the 25-day median across the corpus almost exactly.

What a missed payment costs

Late payments are capped at $35 under this filing, about the 54th percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.

The issuer's other agreements

Preferred Credit has 124 agreements indexed on this site. Across that lineup purchase rates span 17.99% to 21.99%; this filing's 18% sits above 53 of the comparable ones.

What you cannot learn from the filing

The disclosure parsed here does not state anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, an annual fee and a foreign transaction fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.

Reading the agreement yourself

Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, six pages of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.

In short

At 18% the purchase rate is close to ordinary for this corpus; nothing in the rate table sets this filing far apart from its peers. Given the parsing confidence on this filing, read the agreement itself before treating any of these figures as settled.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Preferred Credit filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Preferred Credit, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Preferred Credit

Other cards from Preferred Credit

All 124 agreements from Preferred Credit

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.