Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

S a F E Credit Union

SAFE Platinum Visa Credit Card

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Before you read the numbers.

This agreement prices the card as the Prime Rate plus a margin rather than as a fixed APR. The figure shown is that margin in percentage points, not an APR. The rate actually charged moves whenever Prime moves, so the cost of carrying a balance changes without the issuer amending the agreement.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for SAFE Platinum Visa Credit Card
Late payment feeup to $15
Foreign transaction fee1%
Balance transfer feeNone
Grace period25 days
Minimum interest charge$0
NetworkVisa

Analysis

The SAFE Platinum Visa Credit Card filing quotes margins over Prime instead of finished rates. What that leaves knowable — and what it does not — is the subject of this analysis.

On the face of the filing

What follows is drawn entirely from S a F E Credit Union's CFPB filing for SAFE Platinum Visa Credit Card. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs nine pages.

The filing is explicit about a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. No figure appears for a purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate.

The disclosure table in this document parsed only moderately cleanly; the numbers are reported as read, with that caveat attached.

Margins, not APRs

This filing does not quote finished APRs. It states margins — numbers that are added to the Prime Rate to produce the rate actually charged. Everything below should be read that way.

The practical consequence is that this card has no single disclosed price. The cost of carrying a balance moves whenever the Prime Rate moves, in lockstep and without notice, and no arithmetic on this page can tell you what it costs today.

Parsing confidence here is medium, so treat the figures as indicative of the filing rather than a substitute for it.

What the card costs before you borrow

Spending abroad costs an extra 1% — about $50 on $5,000 of purchases, independent of interest.

Penalty pricing and late fees

The maximum late fee is $15 — roughly the 11th percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.

The grace period

Purchases carry a 25-day grace period: pay the statement in full inside it and the purchase rate never applies.

No minimum interest charge is imposed, so a cycle that accrues a few cents of interest is billed a few cents.

Inside S a F E Credit Union's filed lineup

There are 15 filings from S a F E Credit Union in this index.

What is outside the disclosure

This page cannot tell you a purchase rate, anything about cash advances, an annual fee and penalty pricing, because the filing's disclosure table as read does not contain them.

What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.

The document itself

The original filing, 9 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.

In short

Margins over Prime make this agreement legible but not priceable from the document alone. Treat the figures above as structure, and look up the current Prime Rate before drawing conclusions.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement S a F E Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by S a F E Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to S a F E Credit Union

Other cards from S a F E Credit Union

All 15 agreements from S a F E Credit Union

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed margin over Prime among cards in the same groups.