Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Synchrony Financial

Venmo Visa Signature Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum FIAL

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 11.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Venmo Visa Signature Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum FIAL
Purchase APR11.99% (variable)
Penalty APR27.49%
Annual fee$0
Late payment feeup to $41
Foreign transaction feeNone
Cash advance feeEither $10.00 or 5% of the amount of each
Grace period23 days
NetworkVisa

Analysis

The Venmo Visa Signature Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum FIAL filing from Synchrony Financial sets out a 11.99% purchase APR, no annual fee and a 27.49% penalty rate. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 8th percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.

What this filing discloses

This page covers the agreement Synchrony Financial filed for Venmo Visa Signature Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum FIAL. The filing runs five pages, and It is issued on the Visa network.

On the record here: a purchase rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a foreign transaction fee. A cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate are not stated.

How the purchase rate compares

At 11.99%, the purchase APR falls at roughly the 8th percentile of the 2,280 filings indexed here, which reads as inexpensive against the rest of the filings.

The filing marks this rate as variable, which means it moves with the index the agreement names rather than staying where it is quoted today.

The cost of carrying a balance

A $2,000 balance left untouched for twelve months accrues about $255 in interest at this purchase rate.

Measured against the 21.99% corpus median, the same $2,000 costs approximately $237 less per year here.

That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.

Where the fees are

There is no annual fee. That is the common case in this corpus — about 75% of the filings that disclose an annual fee at all disclose it as $0 — so it is a baseline expectation rather than a distinguishing feature.

For cash advances the filing discloses a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater. $200 is the crossover point where the percentage overtakes the $10 minimum.

The foreign transaction fee is zero — a minority position in this corpus, where roughly 22% of disclosing filings waive it.

The downside terms

A penalty APR of 27.49% sits in this filing, applied when the account falls into default as the agreement defines it. Against the 794 filings here that disclose one, that is roughly the 53rd percentile.

The jump from 11.99% to 27.49% is 15.5 percentage points, worth roughly $567 extra per year on $3,000 of balance.

The maximum late fee is $41 — roughly the 89th percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.

Grace period and minimum charge

Anyone clearing the statement balance inside 23 days pays no purchase interest at all under this filing. The typical filing here allows 25 days, so this one is tighter than most.

Against the rest of Synchrony Financial's filings

This is one of 212 Synchrony Financial agreements collected here. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 0% to 34.99%, and this one at 11.99% is more expensive than 4 of them.

On fees, 11 of the 16 sibling filings that disclose an annual fee also set it at zero — this one is among them.

What the filing does not tell you

Absent from the captured terms: balance transfer terms. The original document is the place to look for any of these.

More broadly, a CFPB agreement filing is a legal and pricing document. It does not describe rewards, benefits, sign-up offers, eligibility or approval criteria, and nothing of that kind has been inferred on this page. Where a card has features of that sort, they live outside this document entirely.

Reading the agreement yourself

The original filing, 5 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.

In short

The purchase rate of 11.99% is one of the cheaper figures in this index — the central point in the agreement's favour. Because there is no annual fee, everything depends on the revolving behaviour: used as a payment instrument and cleared monthly, this agreement costs nothing.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Synchrony Financial filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Synchrony Financial, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Synchrony Financial

Other cards from Synchrony Financial

All 212 agreements from Synchrony Financial

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.