Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 28.15% (variable) |
|---|---|
| Cash advance APR | 31.15% |
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Late payment fee | up to $41 |
| Cash advance fee | Either $10 or 3% of the amount Not Applicable of each |
| Grace period | 25 days |
| Minimum interest charge | $1 |
| Network | Mastercard |
Analysis
TD Bank USA's filed agreement for Target Credit Rates & Fees 08 29 2023 discloses a 28.15% purchase APR and no annual fee. Against the 4,587 filings on this site, that rate lands around the 67th percentile.
On the face of the filing
Target Credit Rates & Fees 08 29 2023 is one of the agreements TD Bank USA has on file with the CFPB. It is issued on the Mastercard network and the filing runs five pages.
The filing is explicit about a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a grace period. A balance transfer rate, a penalty rate and a foreign transaction fee are not stated.
How the purchase rate compares
28.15% puts the purchase APR near the 67th percentile across 2,280 agreements, so it is dearer than the typical filing.
Because the rate is variable, the figure quoted is tied to an index and will drift with it. Nothing here is a fixed commitment.
What the rate means in dollars
Put $1,500 on the card and never reduce it, and twelve months of interest at the disclosed purchase rate comes to approximately $487.
On a median-priced agreement from this index (21.99%) the same $1,500 would run about $369 a year, so this card costs in the region of $119 more annually for the identical balance.
That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.
Grace period and minimum charge
Purchases carry a 25-day grace period: pay the statement in full inside it and the purchase rate never applies. That matches the 25-day median across the corpus almost exactly.
The $1 minimum interest charge means the effective cost of carrying a very small balance is far higher than the quoted APR implies.
When a payment is late
Late payments are capped at $41 under this filing, about the 89th percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.
Fees, and what triggers them
There is no annual fee. That is the common case in this corpus — about 75% of the filings that disclose an annual fee at all disclose it as $0 — so it is a baseline expectation rather than a distinguishing feature.
Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of $10 or 3% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 31.15%. Cash is therefore 3 points dearer than buying something with the card. Advances under roughly $333 are charged the flat $10; larger ones are charged 3%. The grace period described below generally does not extend to cash advances, so interest on them usually begins immediately.
Inside TD Bank USA's filed lineup
This is one of 10 TD Bank USA agreements collected here. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 19.65% to 31.9%, and this one at 28.15% is more expensive than 4 of them.
The limits of this document
The disclosure parsed here does not state balance transfer terms, a foreign transaction fee and penalty pricing. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.
The document itself
The original filing, 5 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.
In short
The pricing here is middling by the standards of the index — 28.15% on purchases is near enough to typical. The absence of an annual fee means the rate is the only thing that can make this card expensive.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement TD Bank USA filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by TD Bank USA, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from TD Bank USA
-
Target Circle™️ Card Credit Rates and Fees
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 29.95%
-
Nordstrom Credit Card Terms (Web)
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 31.9%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Foreign tx fee
- None
-
Target Credit Agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 21.45%
- Annual fee
- $0
-
Target Mastercard Agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 21.45%
- Annual fee
- $0
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.