Before you read the numbers.
The filing discloses a promotional rate alongside the ongoing rate. The figure shown here is the go-to rate that applies once the promotional period ends, because that is the rate that governs for the life of the account.
This document covers more than one card product in a single disclosure table. Figures shown may belong to a sibling product rather than to this one. Check the filing before relying on any individual number.
Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 8.9%–17.9% |
|---|---|
| Introductory APR | 0% for 6 months |
| Balance transfer APR | 4.9% |
| Cash advance APR | 4.9% |
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Late payment fee | up to $25 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 2% |
| Grace period | 25 days |
| Network | Mastercard |
Analysis
The MasterCard Consumer Credit Card Application and Solicitation Disclosure filing from Texas Trust Credit Union sets out a purchase APR of 8.9%–17.9%, no annual fee and a six-month 0% opening period. That purchase rate ranks near the 24th percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.
What the agreement puts on the record
Texas Trust Credit Union submitted the terms for MasterCard Consumer Credit Card Application and Solicitation Disclosure to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. It is issued on the Mastercard network and the filing runs three pages.
Terms captured from the document include a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. A penalty rate is not stated.
The filing bundles multiple products into one disclosure table. Any figure quoted here may describe a related card in the same filing, so the PDF should be read before treating these numbers as this card's own.
What the promotional rate is worth
A six-month promotional period at 0% is on the record here — during it, qualifying balances cost nothing to carry.
Roughly 458 of the 4,587 filings indexed here disclose a zero-percent introductory rate, so this is a real feature of the document but not a rare one.
Once the introductory period ends the rate becomes 17.9%, which turns a lingering $2,000 balance into approximately $392 of annual interest.
Put the other way round, the six-month zero rate is worth roughly $196 on a $2,000 balance relative to paying the go-to rate from day one — a real figure, but one that only materialises for someone who was going to carry that balance anyway.
Pricing the purchase rate
The purchase APR is quoted as a range of 8.9% to 17.9%. That 9-point spread is the whole of what the filing commits to; the method for assigning a rate inside it is not in the document.
Those two numbers occupy very different places in the corpus: roughly the 6th percentile at the bottom and the 24th at the top.
The rate discussed in this section is the go-to rate — the one that applies once the promotional period described below has ended, not the promotional rate itself.
What the rate means in dollars
A $3,000 balance left untouched for twelve months accrues about $588 in interest at this purchase rate.
The corpus median purchase rate is 21.99%, which on the same $3,000 would cost about $738 a year. This filing saves roughly $150 annually against that benchmark.
Per statement cycle that is on the order of $44.45 on $3,000, which is the number that actually shows up on a bill.
That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.
Charges beyond interest
The annual fee is $0. Roughly 75% of filings here that state a fee state zero, so the absence of one is unremarkable in this market.
Cash advances carry a cash advance APR of 4.9%. The grace period described below generally does not extend to cash advances, so interest on them usually begins immediately.
The filing discloses a 4.9% balance transfer rate without an accompanying fee figure.
Spending abroad costs an extra 2% — about $60 on $3,000 of purchases, independent of interest.
The no-interest path
The filing gives 25 days' grace on purchases, meaning a statement balance paid in full within that window attracts no interest.
When a payment is late
$25 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 32nd percentile of the set.
The issuer's other agreements
There are 5 filings from Texas Trust Credit Union in this index.
The limits of this document
Absent from the captured terms: penalty pricing. The original document is the place to look for any of these.
It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.
Go to the source
Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, three pages of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.
In short
The pricing here is middling by the standards of the index — 17.9% on purchases is near enough to typical. The multi-product table is the larger caveat: these numbers are the table's, not necessarily this card's.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Texas Trust Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Texas Trust Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Texas Trust Credit Union
This is the only agreement from Texas Trust Credit Union in the database with enough disclosed terms to publish. See the issuer's full filing list.
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.