Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 12.75% (variable) |
|---|---|
| Cash advance APR | 14.75% |
| Penalty APR | 21% |
| Annual fee | $35 |
| Late payment fee | up to $25 |
| Grace period | 25 days |
Analysis
TIB, National Association's filed agreement for Card Disclosure 187 discloses a 12.75% purchase APR, a $35 annual fee and a 21% penalty rate. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 9th percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.
On the face of the filing
Card Disclosure 187 is one of the agreements TIB, National Association has on file with the CFPB. The filing runs four pages.
The filing is explicit about a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. It is silent on a balance transfer rate and a foreign transaction fee.
The purchase APR against the corpus
Measured against every other filing on the site, 12.75% is about the 9th percentile for purchase APR; it is comfortably below what most issuers filed.
This is disclosed as a variable rate. The number above is a snapshot: it tracks an index, so it changes without the agreement being amended.
The arithmetic of revolving
A $4,000 balance left untouched for twelve months accrues about $544 in interest at this purchase rate.
A typical filing in this index would charge about $983 on that balance; this one is roughly $440 a year below it.
Month to month it reads as about $42.13 per cycle on that balance.
Treat this as an illustration of what the disclosed rate does, not as a projection of a real account, which would be shaped by payments and by the fees described elsewhere in the filing.
Grace period and minimum charge
25 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing. That matches the 25-day median across the corpus almost exactly.
Default pricing
If the account defaults, the filing permits a rate of 21%. Among disclosing agreements here that ranks near the 29th percentile.
Measured in money, moving from 12.75% to 21% costs an extra $293 or so annually on $3,000 — a far larger number than any single late fee.
On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $25, which is around the 32nd percentile here.
What the card costs before you borrow
Holding the card costs $35 a year before any transaction takes place — about the 82nd percentile among agreements in this index that state a fee.
For scale, $35 is approximately what $275 of revolving balance would cost in interest over twelve months at this card's 12.75% rate.
Taking cash against the card means a cash advance APR of 14.75%. The premium over purchases is 2 percentage points. Cash advances also tend to fall outside any grace period, which means interest typically starts on day one rather than at the end of a billing cycle.
Against the rest of TIB, National Association's filings
There are 52 filings from TIB, National Association in this index. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 9.25% to 17.49%, and this one at 12.75% is more expensive than 11 of them.
Among the issuer's other filings that disclose a fee, 11 of 45 come in below this card's $35.
The limits of this document
The disclosure parsed here does not state balance transfer terms and a foreign transaction fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.
Reading the agreement yourself
The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs four pages. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.
In short
At 12.75% the purchase rate is low relative to this corpus, which is the clearest thing the filing has going for it on cost. The $35 annual fee is charged regardless of use, so it is a cost that applies even to an account that never revolves.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement TIB, National Association filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by TIB, National Association, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from TIB, National Association
-
Card Disclosure
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 12.75%
- Annual fee
- $35
-
Card Disclosure
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 12.75%
- Annual fee
- $35
-
Card Disclosure
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 12.49%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 2.9%
-
Card Disclosure
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 11.74%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 2.9%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.