Before you read the numbers.
The filing discloses a promotional rate alongside the ongoing rate. The figure shown here is the go-to rate that applies once the promotional period ends, because that is the rate that governs for the life of the account.
Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 11.74% (variable) |
|---|---|
| Introductory APR | 2.9% for 6 months |
| Balance transfer APR | 11.74% |
| Penalty APR | 21% |
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Late payment fee | up to $25 |
| Grace period | 25 days |
Analysis
On the record for Card Disclosure 164: a 11.74% purchase APR, no annual fee, a 2.9% introductory rate and a 21% penalty rate, filed by TIB, National Association. Against the 4,587 filings on this site, that rate lands around the 7th percentile.
What the document actually states
This page covers the agreement TIB, National Association filed for Card Disclosure 164. The filing runs four pages.
Terms captured from the document include a purchase rate, a balance transfer rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. A cash advance rate and a foreign transaction fee are not stated.
Introductory pricing
A promotional rate of 2.9% applies for six months under this agreement — lower than the standard rate, but not free.
Among the 763 filings here that disclose an introductory rate, 2.9% sits at about the 73rd percentile.
What matters more than the promotion is the rate waiting behind it: 11.74%. A $3,000 balance that survives the promotional window costs roughly $374 a year from that point on.
The purchase APR against the corpus
Measured against every other filing on the site, 11.74% is about the 7th percentile for purchase APR; it is comfortably below what most issuers filed.
The filing marks this rate as variable, which means it moves with the index the agreement names rather than staying where it is quoted today.
The rate discussed in this section is the go-to rate — the one that applies once the promotional period described below has ended, not the promotional rate itself.
What a balance actually costs
Put $4,000 on the card and never reduce it, and twelve months of interest at the disclosed purchase rate comes to approximately $498.
Priced at the median of 21.99%, that balance would generate about $983 in a year — so this agreement comes in around $485 cheaper for the same debt.
Treat this as an illustration of what the disclosed rate does, not as a projection of a real account, which would be shaped by payments and by the fees described elsewhere in the filing.
What the card costs before you borrow
The annual fee is $0. Roughly 75% of filings here that state a fee state zero, so the absence of one is unremarkable in this market.
The filing discloses a 11.74% balance transfer rate without an accompanying fee figure.
Penalty pricing and late fees
A penalty APR of 21% sits in this filing, applied when the account falls into default as the agreement defines it. Against the 794 filings here that disclose one, that is roughly the 29th percentile.
Measured in money, moving from 11.74% to 21% costs an extra $327 or so annually on $3,000 — a far larger number than any single late fee.
$25 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 32nd percentile of the set.
The grace period
25 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing.
What the filing does not tell you
The disclosure parsed here does not state anything about cash advances and a foreign transaction fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.
Inside TIB, National Association's filed lineup
There are 52 filings from TIB, National Association in this index. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 9.25% to 17.49%, and this one at 11.74% is more expensive than 9 of them.
Reading the agreement yourself
This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — four pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.
In short
11.74% places this filing at the inexpensive end of the set, which is the headline here.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement TIB, National Association filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by TIB, National Association, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from TIB, National Association
-
Card Disclosure
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 11.5%
- Annual fee
- $35
-
Card Disclosure
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 11%
- Annual fee
- $35
-
Card Disclosure
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 12.49%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 2.9%
-
Card Disclosure
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 10.75%
- Annual fee
- $35
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.