Before you read the numbers.
The filing discloses a promotional rate alongside the ongoing rate. The figure shown here is the go-to rate that applies once the promotional period ends, because that is the rate that governs for the life of the account.
This document covers more than one card product in a single disclosure table. Figures shown may belong to a sibling product rather than to this one. Check the filing before relying on any individual number.
Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 15.5%–18% (variable) |
|---|---|
| Introductory APR | 7.5% for 12 months |
| Balance transfer APR | 15.5% |
| Cash advance APR | 15.5% |
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Late payment fee | up to $30 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 1% |
| Grace period | 25 days |
| Network | Visa |
Analysis
Rates and Disclosures 2023, as filed by Tucson Federal Credit Union, carries a purchase APR of 15.5%–18%, no annual fee and a 7.5% introductory rate. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 34th percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.
What this filing discloses
Rates and Disclosures 2023 is one of the agreements Tucson Federal Credit Union has on file with the CFPB. The filing runs eight pages, and It is issued on the Visa network.
Terms captured from the document include a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. A penalty rate is not stated.
The filing bundles multiple products into one disclosure table. Any figure quoted here may describe a related card in the same filing, so the PDF should be read before treating these numbers as this card's own.
Introductory pricing
The introductory rate is 7.5%, held for 12 months. It is a discount rather than a holiday — interest still accrues, just more slowly than the go-to rate.
Among the 763 filings here that disclose an introductory rate, 7.5% sits at about the 90th percentile.
The go-to rate is 18%. Any balance still outstanding when the promotion lapses starts accruing at that figure — about $591 a year on $3,000.
The purchase rate in context
The purchase APR is quoted as a range of 15.5% to 18%. That 2.5-point spread is the whole of what the filing commits to; the method for assigning a rate inside it is not in the document.
The floor of that band sits at about the 37th percentile of filed purchase rates; the ceiling sits at about the 34th. In corpus terms the same card can be cheap or expensive depending on how it is priced.
The agreement labels the purchase rate variable, so the quoted figure reflects the index at the time of filing rather than a locked-in price.
The rate discussed in this section is the go-to rate — the one that applies once the promotional period described below has ended, not the promotional rate itself.
The cost of carrying a balance
Carry $1,000 on this card for a year without paying it down and the purchase rate alone generates roughly $197 in interest.
The corpus median purchase rate is 21.99%, which on the same $1,000 would cost about $246 a year. This filing saves roughly $49 annually against that benchmark.
Month to month it reads as about $14.90 per cycle on that balance.
That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.
Fees, and what triggers them
No annual fee appears in the filing, in line with the roughly 75% of disclosing agreements in this index that charge nothing to hold the card.
For cash advances the filing discloses a cash advance APR of 15.5%. Cash advances also tend to fall outside any grace period, which means interest typically starts on day one rather than at the end of a billing cycle.
The filing discloses a 15.5% balance transfer rate without an accompanying fee figure.
The filing sets a 1% foreign transaction fee, which adds roughly $30 to $3,000 spent outside the United States.
The no-interest path
25 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing. That matches the 25-day median across the corpus almost exactly.
Default pricing
Late payments are capped at $30 under this filing, about the 49th percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.
Against the rest of Tucson Federal Credit Union's filings
19 separate Tucson Federal Credit Union filings appear in the corpus. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 2.99% to 17.5%, and this one at 18% is more expensive than 6 of them.
What is outside the disclosure
This page cannot tell you penalty pricing, because the filing's disclosure table as read does not contain it.
An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.
The document itself
This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — eight pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.
In short
The pricing here is middling by the standards of the index — 18% on purchases is near enough to typical. With no annual fee, the cost of the account is entirely a function of whether a balance is carried. And because the filing covers several products in one table, even the figures that are right may belong to a different card.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Tucson Federal Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Tucson Federal Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Tucson Federal Credit Union
-
Rates and Disclosures
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 15.25%–17.5%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 7.5%
- Foreign tx fee
- 1%
-
Rates Disclosures July
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 14.75%–17.5%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 7.5%
- Foreign tx fee
- 1%
-
Rates Disclosures Oct
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 14.5%–17.25%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 7.25%
- Foreign tx fee
- 1%
-
Visa Credit Card Application and Solicitation Disclosure
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 10.5%–13.25%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 7.5%
- Foreign tx fee
- 1%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.