Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 17.49%–27.49% (variable) |
|---|---|
| Cash advance APR | 25.49% |
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Late payment fee | up to $27 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 3% |
| Balance transfer fee | Either $10 or 3% of the amount of each |
| Minimum interest charge | $1 |
| Network | Visa |
Analysis
On the record for Alliant Cashback Visa Signature Card Disclosure: a purchase APR of 17.49%–27.49% and no annual fee, filed by Alliant Credit Union. That purchase rate ranks near the 66th percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.
The disclosed terms
Alliant Credit Union submitted the terms for Alliant Cashback Visa Signature Card Disclosure to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs two pages.
Terms captured from the document include a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a foreign transaction fee. A balance transfer rate, a penalty rate and a grace period are not stated.
The purchase rate in context
Purchases price between 17.49% and 27.49% under this filing. The 10-point gap between the two is material, and nothing in the agreement indicates where a given account would land.
The floor of that band sits at about the 47th percentile of filed purchase rates; the ceiling sits at about the 66th. In corpus terms the same card can be cheap or expensive depending on how it is priced.
The filing marks this rate as variable, which means it moves with the index the agreement names rather than staying where it is quoted today.
The cost of carrying a balance
At the disclosed purchase APR, $1,000 revolving for a full year costs something like $316 in interest.
A card priced at the corpus median of 21.99% would charge roughly $246 on that balance. This one charges about $70 more per year.
Broken down to a single thirty-day cycle, the same balance accrues roughly $22.84.
That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.
The fee structure
The annual fee is $0. Roughly 75% of filings here that state a fee state zero, so the absence of one is unremarkable in this market.
Taking cash against the card means a cash advance APR of 25.49%.
Transfers are charged $10 or 3% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater, though no distinct transfer APR appears in the document. Transferring $1,000 would cost roughly $30 at the door.
Foreign transactions attract 3%. On $2,000 of overseas spending that is $60, charged on top of whatever exchange rate applies.
That is at the high end of this corpus — around the 91st percentile of disclosed foreign transaction fees.
What a missed payment costs
On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $27, which is around the 45th percentile here.
Paying in full
Where interest applies at all, the filing bills at least $1. On a tiny balance that floor can dwarf the rate itself.
How it sits in the issuer's own range
10 separate Alliant Credit Union filings appear in the corpus. The issuer's own range is 26.24%–27.49%. At 27.49%, this agreement is dearer than 2 of its siblings.
On fees, 1 of the 3 sibling filings that disclose an annual fee also set it at zero — this one is among them.
What is outside the disclosure
Absent from the captured terms: a grace period and penalty pricing. The original document is the place to look for any of these.
It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.
The document itself
The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs two pages. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.
In short
At 27.49% the purchase rate is close to ordinary for this corpus; nothing in the rate table sets this filing far apart from its peers. Because there is no annual fee, everything depends on the revolving behaviour: used as a payment instrument and cleared monthly, this agreement costs nothing.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Alliant Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Alliant Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Alliant Credit Union
-
Visa Disclosure
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 15.49%–27.49%
- Annual fee
- $5
- Intro APR
- 5.99%
-
Alliant Cashback Visa Signature Card Disclosure
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 16.24%–26.24%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Foreign tx fee
- 3%
-
Visa Disclosure
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 14.24%–26.24%
- Annual fee
- $5
- Intro APR
- 5.99%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.