Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Alliant Credit Union

Visa Disclosure

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 14.24%–26.24%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Before you read the numbers.

The filing discloses a promotional rate alongside the ongoing rate. The figure shown here is the go-to rate that applies once the promotional period ends, because that is the rate that governs for the life of the account.

This document covers more than one card product in a single disclosure table. Figures shown may belong to a sibling product rather than to this one. Check the filing before relying on any individual number.

The annual fee is disclosed as waived for the first year. The recurring fee from year two is the number that matters over the life of the account.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Visa Disclosure
Purchase APR14.24%–26.24% (variable)
Introductory APR5.99% for 12 months
Balance transfer APR14.24%
Cash advance APR29.24%
Penalty APR9.99%
Annual fee$5
Late payment feeup to $27
Cash advance fee2% of each transaction where the merchant country differs from the country of the
Balance transfer feeEither $10 or 3% of the amount of each
Minimum interest charge$1
NetworkVisa

Analysis

On the record for Visa Disclosure: a purchase APR of 14.24%–26.24%, a $5 annual fee, a 5.99% introductory rate and a 9.99% penalty rate, filed by Alliant Credit Union. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 63rd percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.

What the document actually states

Alliant Credit Union submitted the terms for Visa Disclosure to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs two pages.

The disclosure covers a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, a penalty rate and an annual fee line. A foreign transaction fee and a grace period are not stated.

The filing bundles multiple products into one disclosure table. Any figure quoted here may describe a related card in the same filing, so the PDF should be read before treating these numbers as this card's own.

Introductory pricing

A promotional rate of 5.99% applies for 12 months under this agreement — lower than the standard rate, but not free.

Among the 763 filings here that disclose an introductory rate, 5.99% sits at about the 89th percentile.

The go-to rate is 26.24%. Any balance still outstanding when the promotion lapses starts accruing at that figure — about $750 a year on $2,500.

The purchase APR against the corpus

The purchase APR is quoted as a range of 14.24% to 26.24%. That 12-point spread is the whole of what the filing commits to; the method for assigning a rate inside it is not in the document.

The floor of that band sits at about the 28th percentile of filed purchase rates; the ceiling sits at about the 63rd. In corpus terms the same card can be cheap or expensive depending on how it is priced.

The agreement labels the purchase rate variable, so the quoted figure reflects the index at the time of filing rather than a locked-in price.

The rate discussed in this section is the go-to rate — the one that applies once the promotional period described below has ended, not the promotional rate itself.

What the rate means in dollars

The purchase rate turns a $1,000 revolving balance into roughly $300 of annual interest.

The median purchase rate across the corpus is 21.99%; the same balance there would cost about $246. The gap — roughly $54 a year on $1,000 — is the price of this particular filing over a typical one.

That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.

The no-interest path

Where interest applies at all, the filing bills at least $1. On a tiny balance that floor can dwarf the rate itself.

The downside terms

A penalty APR of 9.99% sits in this filing, applied when the account falls into default as the agreement defines it. Against the 794 filings here that disclose one, that is roughly the 2nd percentile.

On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $27, which is around the 45th percentile here.

What the card costs before you borrow

$5 a year is the disclosed annual fee, which ranks near the 76th percentile of the fees filed across this corpus.

For scale, $5 is approximately what $19 of revolving balance would cost in interest over twelve months at this card's 26.24% rate.

A first-year waiver applies according to the document — the $5 begins biting in year two.

Taking cash against the card means a cash advance fee of 2% and a cash advance APR of 29.24%. That is 3 points above the purchase rate.

The transfer fee is $10 or 3% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater; transferred balances then run at 14.24%. Transferring $7,500 would cost roughly $225 at the door.

The issuer's other agreements

Alliant Credit Union has 10 agreements indexed on this site. Across that lineup purchase rates span 26.24% to 27.49%; this filing's 26.24% sits above 0 of the comparable ones.

What you cannot learn from the filing

This page cannot tell you a foreign transaction fee and a grace period, because the filing's disclosure table as read does not contain them.

It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.

Go to the source

This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — two pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.

In short

The pricing here is middling by the standards of the index — 26.24% on purchases is near enough to typical. Note that the $5 annual fee falls due whether the card is used or not. The multi-product table is the larger caveat: these numbers are the table's, not necessarily this card's.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Alliant Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Alliant Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Alliant Credit Union

Other cards from Alliant Credit Union

All 10 agreements from Alliant Credit Union

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.