Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Huntington National Bank, the

cashback agree

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 13.49%–27.49%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for cashback agree
Purchase APR13.49%–27.49% (variable)
Introductory APR0% for 12 months
Balance transfer APR20.74%
Cash advance APR25.49%
Annual fee$0
Late payment feeup to $40
Cash advance feeThe greater of $10.00 or 3% of the amount of each
Balance transfer feeThe greater of $10.00 or 3% of the amount of each
Grace period21 days
Minimum interest charge$1

Analysis

cashback agree, as filed by Huntington National Bank, the, carries a purchase APR of 13.49%–27.49%, no annual fee and a 12-month 0% opening period. That purchase rate ranks near the 66th percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.

What this filing discloses

What follows is drawn entirely from Huntington National Bank, the's CFPB filing for cashback agree. The filing runs 18 pages.

The filing is explicit about a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. No figure appears for a penalty rate and a foreign transaction fee.

The promotional period

This agreement opens at 0% for 12 months, the only period in the document where carrying a balance is free.

Zero-percent openings appear in roughly 458 of the filings on this site, which puts this agreement in a sizeable minority rather than a class of its own.

Once the introductory period ends the rate becomes 27.49%, which turns a lingering $3,000 balance into approximately $949 of annual interest.

The promotional window is therefore worth something on the order of $949 on $3,000, measured against the same balance priced at the standard rate for the same period.

The purchase APR against the corpus

The purchase APR is quoted as a range of 13.49% to 27.49%. That 14-point spread is the whole of what the filing commits to; the method for assigning a rate inside it is not in the document.

The floor of that band sits at about the 25th percentile of filed purchase rates; the ceiling sits at about the 66th. In corpus terms the same card can be cheap or expensive depending on how it is priced.

The agreement labels the purchase rate variable, so the quoted figure reflects the index at the time of filing rather than a locked-in price.

The cost of carrying a balance

Carry $5,000 on this card for a year without paying it down and the purchase rate alone generates roughly $1,581 in interest.

Against the corpus median of 21.99%, that is approximately $352 a year of extra interest on the same $5,000.

Note the $1 minimum interest charge, which overrides the arithmetic above whenever the calculated interest falls below it.

Treat this as an illustration of what the disclosed rate does, not as a projection of a real account, which would be shaped by payments and by the fees described elsewhere in the filing.

Charges beyond interest

No annual fee appears in the filing, in line with the roughly 75% of disclosing agreements in this index that charge nothing to hold the card.

Taking cash against the card means a cash advance fee of $10 or 3% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 25.49%.

Moving a balance onto this card carries an up-front charge of $10 or 3% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater, with the transferred balance priced at 20.74%. Transferring $1,000 would cost roughly $30 at the door.

The grace period

Anyone clearing the statement balance inside 21 days pays no purchase interest at all under this filing. That is shorter than the 25-day corpus median.

A minimum interest charge of $1 applies in any cycle where interest is due, which makes very small revolving balances disproportionately expensive.

Penalty pricing and late fees

On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $40, which is around the 72nd percentile here.

How it sits in the issuer's own range

This is one of 38 Huntington National Bank, the agreements collected here. The issuer's own range is 12.24%–30.74%. At 27.49%, this agreement is dearer than 22 of its siblings.

On fees, 33 of the 34 sibling filings that disclose an annual fee also set it at zero — this one is among them.

What you cannot learn from the filing

The disclosure parsed here does not state a foreign transaction fee and penalty pricing. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

More broadly, a CFPB agreement filing is a legal and pricing document. It does not describe rewards, benefits, sign-up offers, eligibility or approval criteria, and nothing of that kind has been inferred on this page. Where a card has features of that sort, they live outside this document entirely.

Reading the agreement yourself

The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs 18 pages. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.

In short

At 27.49% the purchase rate is close to ordinary for this corpus; nothing in the rate table sets this filing far apart from its peers. Because there is no annual fee, everything depends on the revolving behaviour: used as a payment instrument and cleared monthly, this agreement costs nothing.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Huntington National Bank, the filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Huntington National Bank, the, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Huntington National Bank, the

Other cards from Huntington National Bank, the

All 38 agreements from Huntington National Bank, the

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.