Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Capital One

Credit Card Agreement for REI Co op Mastercard Card in Capital One N A

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 17.49%–28.49%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Credit Card Agreement for REI Co op Mastercard Card in Capital One N A
Purchase APR17.49%–28.49% (variable)
Balance transfer APR17.49%
Cash advance APR28.49%
Annual fee$0
Late payment feeup to $40
Cash advance feeEither $5 or 5% of the amount of each
Grace period25 days
NetworkMastercard

Analysis

The Credit Card Agreement for REI Co op Mastercard Card in Capital One N A filing from Capital One sets out a purchase APR of 17.49%–28.49% and no annual fee. Against the 4,587 filings on this site, that rate lands around the 68th percentile.

The disclosed terms

The document behind this page is Capital One's filed agreement for Credit Card Agreement for REI Co op Mastercard Card in Capital One N A. The filing runs six pages, and It is issued on the Mastercard network.

The disclosure covers a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. A penalty rate and a foreign transaction fee are not stated.

How the purchase rate compares

The purchase APR is quoted as a range of 17.49% to 28.49%. That 11-point spread is the whole of what the filing commits to; the method for assigning a rate inside it is not in the document.

Read against the index, the low end ranks around the 47th percentile and the high end around the 68th — the band straddles a wide stretch of the market this corpus describes.

This is disclosed as a variable rate. The number above is a snapshot: it tracks an index, so it changes without the agreement being amended.

What a balance actually costs

At the disclosed purchase APR, $4,000 revolving for a full year costs something like $1,318 in interest.

The median purchase rate across the corpus is 21.99%; the same balance there would cost about $983. The gap — roughly $334 a year on $4,000 — is the price of this particular filing over a typical one.

Broken down to a single thirty-day cycle, the same balance accrues roughly $94.73.

These figures are arithmetic on the disclosed rate, not a quote: they assume the balance is never reduced, ignore any payments, and take no account of fees charged separately.

Fees, and what triggers them

No annual fee appears in the filing, in line with the roughly 75% of disclosing agreements in this index that charge nothing to hold the card.

Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of $5 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 28.49%.

Transferred balances are priced at 17.49%; no separate transfer fee was captured from the filing.

When a payment is late

The maximum late fee is $40 — roughly the 72nd percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.

The grace period

Purchases carry a 25-day grace period: pay the statement in full inside it and the purchase rate never applies. That matches the 25-day median across the corpus almost exactly.

The issuer's other agreements

20 separate Capital One filings appear in the corpus. The issuer's own range is 19.49%–30.49%. At 28.49%, this agreement is dearer than 4 of its siblings.

On fees, 18 of the 19 sibling filings that disclose an annual fee also set it at zero — this one is among them.

What the filing does not tell you

Absent from the captured terms: a foreign transaction fee and penalty pricing. The original document is the place to look for any of these.

More broadly, a CFPB agreement filing is a legal and pricing document. It does not describe rewards, benefits, sign-up offers, eligibility or approval criteria, and nothing of that kind has been inferred on this page. Where a card has features of that sort, they live outside this document entirely.

Reading the agreement yourself

The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs six pages. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.

In short

At 28.49% the purchase rate is close to ordinary for this corpus; nothing in the rate table sets this filing far apart from its peers. Because there is no annual fee, everything depends on the revolving behaviour: used as a payment instrument and cleared monthly, this agreement costs nothing.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Capital One filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Capital One, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Capital One

Other cards from Capital One

All 20 agreements from Capital One

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.