Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Citibank

Citi Strata Pricing and Information Table

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 18.49%–28.49%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Citi Strata Pricing and Information Table
Purchase APR18.49%–28.49% (variable)
Balance transfer APR18.49%
Cash advance APR29.74%
Penalty APR29.99%
Annual fee$0
Late payment feeup to $41
Balance transfer fee0.05066% to 0.07805% 11.74% to 21.74%
Grace period23 days
Minimum interest charge$0.5

Analysis

The Citi Strata Pricing and Information Table filing from Citibank sets out a purchase APR of 18.49%–28.49%, no annual fee and a 29.99% penalty rate. Against the 4,587 filings on this site, that rate lands around the 68th percentile.

What the document actually states

What follows is drawn entirely from Citibank's CFPB filing for Citi Strata Pricing and Information Table. The filing runs two pages.

On the record here: a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, a penalty rate and an annual fee line. A foreign transaction fee is not stated.

Pricing the purchase rate

This is a tiered agreement: the filing discloses a purchase APR anywhere from 18.49% to 28.49%, a spread of 10 percentage points. Which end of that band applies is set by the issuer at account opening and the filing does not say how.

Those two numbers occupy very different places in the corpus: roughly the 57th percentile at the bottom and the 68th at the top.

The filing marks this rate as variable, which means it moves with the index the agreement names rather than staying where it is quoted today.

What a balance actually costs

A $1,000 balance left untouched for twelve months accrues about $329 in interest at this purchase rate.

Against the corpus median of 21.99%, that is approximately $84 a year of extra interest on the same $1,000.

Per statement cycle that is on the order of $23.68 on $1,000, which is the number that actually shows up on a bill.

That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.

Default pricing

The agreement discloses penalty pricing of 29.99% — about the 61st percentile of the 794 penalty rates recorded across this index.

Measured in money, moving from 28.49% to 29.99% costs an extra $60 or so annually on $3,000 — a far larger number than any single late fee.

On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $41, which is around the 89th percentile here.

What the card costs before you borrow

There is no annual fee. That is the common case in this corpus — about 75% of the filings that disclose an annual fee at all disclose it as $0 — so it is a baseline expectation rather than a distinguishing feature.

For cash advances the filing discloses a cash advance APR of 29.74%. Cash is therefore 1.25 points dearer than buying something with the card. Cash advances also tend to fall outside any grace period, which means interest typically starts on day one rather than at the end of a billing cycle.

Moving a balance onto this card carries an up-front charge of 0.05% of the amount transferred, with the transferred balance priced at 18.49%. On $2,000 that fee is about $1 before any interest is charged.

Grace period and minimum charge

Anyone clearing the statement balance inside 23 days pays no purchase interest at all under this filing. That is shorter than the 25-day corpus median.

The $0.50 minimum interest charge means the effective cost of carrying a very small balance is far higher than the quoted APR implies.

The issuer's other agreements

There are 82 filings from Citibank in this index. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 25.99% to 34.24%, and this one at 28.49% is more expensive than 9 of them.

33 of the issuer's other 39 disclosing filings are likewise fee-free.

What is outside the disclosure

This page cannot tell you a foreign transaction fee, because the filing's disclosure table as read does not contain it.

What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.

Where the authority sits

Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, two pages of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.

In short

The pricing here is middling by the standards of the index — 28.49% on purchases is near enough to typical. Because there is no annual fee, everything depends on the revolving behaviour: used as a payment instrument and cleared monthly, this agreement costs nothing.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Citibank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Citibank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Citibank

Other cards from Citibank

All 82 agreements from Citibank

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.