Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Chase Bank USA

British Airways Visa Signature Agreement

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for British Airways Visa Signature Agreement
Balance transfer APR15.99%
Cash advance APR24.99%
Penalty APR29.99%
Annual fee$95
Late payment feeup to $40
Foreign transaction feeNone
Cash advance feeEither $10 or 5% of the amount of each transaction, whichever is greater.
Balance transfer feeEither $5 or 5% of the amount of each transfer, whichever is greater.
Minimum interest charge$0
NetworkVisa

Analysis

On the record for COL00069 British Airways Visa Signature Agreement: a $95 annual fee and a 29.99% penalty rate, filed by Chase Bank USA.

What the document actually states

The document behind this page is Chase Bank USA's filed agreement for COL00069 British Airways Visa Signature Agreement. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs 21 pages.

The filing is explicit about a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. A purchase rate and a grace period are not stated.

These figures carry medium extraction confidence — they are reproduced as read from the filing, which remains the authority.

Where the fees are

Holding the card costs $95 a year before any transaction takes place — about the 92nd percentile among agreements in this index that state a fee.

Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 24.99%. Advances under roughly $200 are charged the flat $10; larger ones are charged 5%. The grace period described below generally does not extend to cash advances, so interest on them usually begins immediately.

The transfer fee is $5 or 5% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater; transferred balances then run at 15.99%. On $5,000 that fee is about $250 before any interest is charged.

No foreign transaction fee is charged, which puts this filing in the roughly 22% of disclosing agreements here that do not take a cut of overseas spending.

The no-interest path

The filing sets the minimum interest charge at zero — small balances are not rounded up to a floor.

The downside terms

The agreement discloses penalty pricing of 29.99% — about the 61st percentile of the 794 penalty rates recorded across this index.

Late payments are capped at $40 under this filing, about the 72nd percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.

Inside Chase Bank USA's filed lineup

There are 25 filings from Chase Bank USA in this index.

The limits of this document

This page cannot tell you a purchase rate and a grace period, because the filing's disclosure table as read does not contain them.

An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.

Where the authority sits

The original filing, 21 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.

In short

Note that the $95 annual fee falls due whether the card is used or not. All of this rests on figures read from the filing with less than full confidence, which is reason enough to check the document before relying on any of it.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Chase Bank USA filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Chase Bank USA, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Chase Bank USA

Other cards from Chase Bank USA

All 25 agreements from Chase Bank USA

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.