Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Chase Bank USA

IHG MasterCard World Elite Agreement

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for IHG MasterCard World Elite Agreement
Balance transfer APR15.99%
Cash advance APR24.99%
Penalty APR29.99%
Annual fee$89
Late payment feeup to $40
Foreign transaction feeNone
Cash advance feeEither $10 or 5% of the amount of each transaction, whichever is greater.
Balance transfer feeEither $5 or 5% of the amount of each transfer, whichever is greater.
Minimum interest charge$0
NetworkMastercard

Analysis

On the record for COL00091 IHG MasterCard World Elite Agreement: a $89 annual fee and a 29.99% penalty rate, filed by Chase Bank USA.

What the document actually states

The document behind this page is Chase Bank USA's filed agreement for COL00091 IHG MasterCard World Elite Agreement. It is issued on the Mastercard network and the filing runs 21 pages.

The disclosure covers a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. No figure appears for a purchase rate and a grace period.

These figures carry medium extraction confidence — they are reproduced as read from the filing, which remains the authority.

Fees, and what triggers them

Holding the card costs $89 a year before any transaction takes place — about the 91st percentile among agreements in this index that state a fee.

Taking cash against the card means a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 24.99%. Advances under roughly $200 are charged the flat $10; larger ones are charged 5%. The grace period described below generally does not extend to cash advances, so interest on them usually begins immediately.

The transfer fee is $5 or 5% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater; transferred balances then run at 15.99%. On $1,000 that fee is about $50 before any interest is charged.

Foreign transactions carry no fee. Only about 22% of the filings here that disclose a foreign transaction fee set it at zero, so this is a genuine point of difference.

Default pricing

If the account defaults, the filing permits a rate of 29.99%. Among disclosing agreements here that ranks near the 61st percentile.

The maximum late fee is $40 — roughly the 72nd percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.

Grace period and minimum charge

No minimum interest charge is imposed, so a cycle that accrues a few cents of interest is billed a few cents.

The issuer's other agreements

This is one of 25 Chase Bank USA agreements collected here.

Among the issuer's other filings that disclose a fee, 10 of 22 come in below this card's $89.

What you cannot learn from the filing

The disclosure parsed here does not state a purchase rate and a grace period. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.

Where the authority sits

Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, 21 pages of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.

In short

Against that sits the $89 annual fee, which is unavoidable once the account is open. Given the parsing confidence on this filing, read the agreement itself before treating any of these figures as settled.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Chase Bank USA filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Chase Bank USA, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Chase Bank USA

Other cards from Chase Bank USA

All 25 agreements from Chase Bank USA

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.