Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Chase Bank USA

Visa Agreement

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Visa Agreement
Introductory APR9.99%
Balance transfer APR9.99%
Cash advance APR24.99%
Penalty APR29.99%
Annual fee$0
Late payment feeup to $40
Foreign transaction fee3%
Cash advance feeEither $10 or 5% of the amount of each transaction, whichever is greater.
Balance transfer feeEither $5 or 5% of the amount of each transfer, whichever is greater.
Minimum interest charge$0
NetworkVisa

Analysis

The COL00095 Visa Agreement filing from Chase Bank USA sets out no annual fee, a 9.99% introductory rate and a 29.99% penalty rate.

The disclosed terms

This page covers the agreement Chase Bank USA filed for COL00095 Visa Agreement. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs 22 pages.

On the record here: a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. A purchase rate and a grace period are not stated.

Confidence in the parse of this filing is moderate rather than high, so the figures below are best checked against the original.

What the promotional rate is worth

An introductory rate of 9.99% appears without a disclosed duration.

Among the 763 filings here that disclose an introductory rate, 9.99% sits at about the 92nd percentile.

Default pricing

The agreement discloses penalty pricing of 29.99% — about the 61st percentile of the 794 penalty rates recorded across this index.

$40 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 72nd percentile of the set.

Charges beyond interest

There is no annual fee. That is the common case in this corpus — about 75% of the filings that disclose an annual fee at all disclose it as $0 — so it is a baseline expectation rather than a distinguishing feature.

Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 24.99%. Cash advances also tend to fall outside any grace period, which means interest typically starts on day one rather than at the end of a billing cycle.

The transfer fee is $5 or 5% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater; transferred balances then run at 9.99%. Shifting $3,000 across attracts something like $150 in fees on day one.

The filing sets a 3% foreign transaction fee, which adds roughly $45 to $1,500 spent outside the United States.

That is at the high end of this corpus — around the 91st percentile of disclosed foreign transaction fees.

The grace period

No minimum interest charge is imposed, so a cycle that accrues a few cents of interest is billed a few cents.

Against the rest of Chase Bank USA's filings

25 separate Chase Bank USA filings appear in the corpus.

On fees, 5 of the 22 sibling filings that disclose an annual fee also set it at zero — this one is among them.

What is outside the disclosure

This page cannot tell you a purchase rate and a grace period, because the filing's disclosure table as read does not contain them.

An agreement filing is not a marketing document. Rewards, perks, welcome offers and eligibility rules are not in it, are not in this dataset, and are therefore not discussed anywhere on this page.

Go to the source

The original filing, 22 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.

In short

Given the parsing confidence on this filing, read the agreement itself before treating any of these figures as settled.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Chase Bank USA filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Chase Bank USA, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Chase Bank USA

Other cards from Chase Bank USA

All 25 agreements from Chase Bank USA

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.