Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

First Hawaiian Bank

UnitedCreditCard 060123 Final

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 18%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for UnitedCreditCard 060123 Final
Purchase APR18% (variable)
Cash advance APR18%
Penalty APR18%
Annual fee$0
Late payment feeup to $40
Foreign transaction feeNone
Cash advance feeEither $10 or 5% of the amount of each
Balance transfer feeEither $5 or 5% of the amount of each
Grace period25 days
Minimum interest charge$1
NetworkMastercard

Analysis

On the record for UnitedCreditCard 060123 Final: a 18% purchase APR, no annual fee and a 18% penalty rate, filed by First Hawaiian Bank. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 34th percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.

What this filing discloses

What follows is drawn entirely from First Hawaiian Bank's CFPB filing for UnitedCreditCard 060123 Final. The filing runs six pages, and It is issued on the Mastercard network.

Terms captured from the document include a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. A balance transfer rate is not stated.

Where the purchase APR sits

18% puts the purchase APR near the 34th percentile across 2,280 agreements, so it sits below the middle of the distribution.

The agreement labels the purchase rate variable, so the quoted figure reflects the index at the time of filing rather than a locked-in price.

What the rate means in dollars

Put $2,000 on the card and never reduce it, and twelve months of interest at the disclosed purchase rate comes to approximately $394.

Measured against the 21.99% corpus median, the same $2,000 costs approximately $97 less per year here.

Note the $1 minimum interest charge, which overrides the arithmetic above whenever the calculated interest falls below it.

Treat this as an illustration of what the disclosed rate does, not as a projection of a real account, which would be shaped by payments and by the fees described elsewhere in the filing.

Where the fees are

No annual fee appears in the filing, in line with the roughly 75% of disclosing agreements in this index that charge nothing to hold the card.

Taking cash against the card means a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 18%. $200 is the crossover point where the percentage overtakes the $10 minimum. The grace period described below generally does not extend to cash advances, so interest on them usually begins immediately.

A balance transfer costs $5 or 5% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater up front. The filing does not separately state the rate applied to transferred balances. On $3,000 that fee is about $150 before any interest is charged.

Foreign transactions carry no fee. Only about 22% of the filings here that disclose a foreign transaction fee set it at zero, so this is a genuine point of difference.

Default pricing

The agreement discloses penalty pricing of 18% — about the 19th percentile of the 794 penalty rates recorded across this index.

On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $40, which is around the 72nd percentile here.

Grace period and minimum charge

Anyone clearing the statement balance inside 25 days pays no purchase interest at all under this filing. That matches the 25-day median across the corpus almost exactly.

The $1 minimum interest charge means the effective cost of carrying a very small balance is far higher than the quoted APR implies.

Inside First Hawaiian Bank's filed lineup

This is one of 9 First Hawaiian Bank agreements collected here. The issuer's own range is 14.74%–18%. At 18%, this agreement is dearer than 4 of its siblings.

On fees, 7 of the 8 sibling filings that disclose an annual fee also set it at zero — this one is among them.

What the filing does not tell you

It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.

Reading the agreement yourself

The original filing, 6 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.

In short

The pricing here is middling by the standards of the index — 18% on purchases is near enough to typical.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement First Hawaiian Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by First Hawaiian Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to First Hawaiian Bank

Other cards from First Hawaiian Bank

All 9 agreements from First Hawaiian Bank

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.