Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 14.99% (fixed) |
|---|---|
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Late payment fee | up to $28 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 1% |
| Network | Visa |
Analysis
The VISA Share Secured Disclosure filing from Truity Federal Credit Union sets out a 14.99% purchase APR and no annual fee. Against the 4,587 filings on this site, that rate lands around the 15th percentile.
The disclosed terms
What follows is drawn entirely from Truity Federal Credit Union's CFPB filing for VISA Share Secured Disclosure. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs four pages.
Terms captured from the document include a purchase rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a foreign transaction fee. A cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and a penalty rate are not stated.
What "secured" changes
This is a secured agreement — the credit line is collateralised by a deposit. The disclosure table captured on this page covers pricing only; the mechanics of the deposit live in the body of the document.
It is worth noting that collateral does not automatically mean a cheap rate: at 14.99%, this filing's purchase APR still sits at about the 15th percentile of the whole corpus, secured and unsecured filings alike.
How the purchase rate compares
At 14.99%, the purchase APR falls at roughly the 15th percentile of the 2,280 filings indexed here, which is comfortably below what most issuers filed.
This filing states a fixed purchase rate, which sets it apart from the variable pricing that dominates the rest of the index.
The arithmetic of revolving
Carry $1,200 on this card for a year without paying it down and the purchase rate alone generates roughly $194 in interest.
Priced at the median of 21.99%, that balance would generate about $295 in a year — so this agreement comes in around $101 cheaper for the same debt.
These figures are arithmetic on the disclosed rate, not a quote: they assume the balance is never reduced, ignore any payments, and take no account of fees charged separately.
Fees, and what triggers them
There is no annual fee. That is the common case in this corpus — about 75% of the filings that disclose an annual fee at all disclose it as $0 — so it is a baseline expectation rather than a distinguishing feature.
Foreign transactions attract 1%. On $1,500 of overseas spending that is $15, charged on top of whatever exchange rate applies.
What a missed payment costs
On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $28, which is around the 46th percentile here.
The issuer's other agreements
Truity Federal Credit Union has 5 agreements indexed on this site. Every one of the others that discloses a purchase rate discloses the same 18%, so the issuer's filings are near-identical on pricing and the differences between its cards lie outside the rate table.
What is outside the disclosure
This page cannot tell you anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, a grace period and penalty pricing, because the filing's disclosure table as read does not contain them.
It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.
The document itself
The original filing, 4 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.
In short
14.99% places this filing at the inexpensive end of the set, which is the headline here. The absence of an annual fee means the rate is the only thing that can make this card expensive.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Truity Federal Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Truity Federal Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Truity Federal Credit Union
-
VISA Partner Signature Business Rewards Disclosure 2
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 14.24%–18%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Foreign tx fee
- None
-
VISA Platinum RATE MLA Intro Rate Disclosure 2
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 12.49%–18%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Foreign tx fee
- 1%
-
VISA Platinum REWARDS MLA Intro Rate Disclosure 2
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 14.49%–18%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Foreign tx fee
- 1%
-
VISA Signature Rewards MLA Intro Rate Disclosure 2
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 14.49%–18%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Foreign tx fee
- None
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.