Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Vantage Credit Union

Credit Card Agreement and Disclosure DUNS077145902 VANTAGE CU

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 14.99%–21.99%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Credit Card Agreement and Disclosure DUNS077145902 VANTAGE CU
Purchase APR14.99%–21.99% (variable)
Penalty APR32.74%
Late payment feeup to $25
Foreign transaction fee1%
Grace period21 days
NetworkMastercard

Analysis

The Credit Card Agreement and Disclosure DUNS077145902 VANTAGE CU filing from Vantage Credit Union sets out a purchase APR of 14.99%–21.99% and a 32.74% penalty rate. That purchase rate ranks near the 49th percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.

On the face of the filing

Vantage Credit Union submitted the terms for Credit Card Agreement and Disclosure DUNS077145902 VANTAGE CU to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. It is issued on the Mastercard network and the filing runs six pages.

Terms captured from the document include a purchase rate, a penalty rate, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. It is silent on a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and an annual fee line.

The purchase APR against the corpus

This is a tiered agreement: the filing discloses a purchase APR anywhere from 14.99% to 21.99%, a spread of 7 percentage points. Which end of that band applies is set by the issuer at account opening and the filing does not say how.

Read against the index, the low end ranks around the 33rd percentile and the high end around the 49th — the band straddles a wide stretch of the market this corpus describes.

Because the rate is variable, the figure quoted is tied to an index and will drift with it. Nothing here is a fixed commitment.

The cost of carrying a balance

The purchase rate turns a $4,000 revolving balance into roughly $983 of annual interest.

That is almost exactly what a median-priced filing in this index would charge on the same balance, since the corpus median sits at 21.99%.

That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.

The fee structure

Foreign transactions attract 1%. On $1,000 of overseas spending that is $10, charged on top of whatever exchange rate applies.

Penalty pricing and late fees

The agreement discloses penalty pricing of 32.74% — about the 68th percentile of the 794 penalty rates recorded across this index.

The jump from 21.99% to 32.74% is 10.75 percentage points, worth roughly $353 extra per year on $2,500 of balance.

The maximum late fee is $25 — roughly the 32nd percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.

Paying in full

Anyone clearing the statement balance inside 21 days pays no purchase interest at all under this filing. The typical filing here allows 25 days, so this one is tighter than most.

How it sits in the issuer's own range

There are 19 filings from Vantage Credit Union in this index. The issuer's own range is 17.49%–22.74%. At 21.99%, this agreement is dearer than 7 of its siblings.

What you cannot learn from the filing

The disclosure parsed here does not state anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms and an annual fee. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.

Where the authority sits

Everything here is a reading of the filed agreement, six pages of it, which is linked above and which governs. Terms also change between filings, so the date on the document matters.

In short

The pricing here is middling by the standards of the index — 21.99% on purchases is near enough to typical.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Vantage Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Vantage Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Vantage Credit Union

Other cards from Vantage Credit Union

All 19 agreements from Vantage Credit Union

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.