Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Virginia Federal Credit Union

Credit Card Agreement September

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Before you read the numbers.

The only purchase rate this filing states is a promotional one. The rate that applies after the promotional period is not disclosed in this document, and it is the more important of the two.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Credit Card Agreement September
Introductory APR1.99%
Annual fee$0
Late payment feeup to $35
Foreign transaction feeNone
Cash advance feeNone
Balance transfer feeNone
Grace period25 days
Minimum interest charge$0
NetworkMastercard

Analysis

The Credit Card Agreement September filing from Virginia Federal Credit Union sets out no annual fee and a 1.99% introductory rate.

What the document actually states

This page covers the agreement Virginia Federal Credit Union filed for Credit Card Agreement September. It is issued on the Mastercard network and the filing runs four pages.

The filing is explicit about an annual fee line, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. A purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate are not stated.

These figures carry medium extraction confidence — they are reproduced as read from the filing, which remains the authority.

Introductory pricing

An introductory rate of 1.99% appears without a disclosed duration.

Among the 763 filings here that disclose an introductory rate, 1.99% sits at about the 66th percentile.

Crucially, the go-to rate is absent from what could be read out of this filing. A promotional rate without the rate that follows it is only half the pricing, and the PDF is the only source for the other half.

Grace period and minimum charge

Purchases carry a 25-day grace period: pay the statement in full inside it and the purchase rate never applies.

No minimum interest charge is imposed, so a cycle that accrues a few cents of interest is billed a few cents.

Default pricing

The maximum late fee is $35 — roughly the 54th percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.

Fees, and what triggers them

There is no annual fee. That is the common case in this corpus — about 75% of the filings that disclose an annual fee at all disclose it as $0 — so it is a baseline expectation rather than a distinguishing feature.

No foreign transaction fee is charged, which puts this filing in the roughly 22% of disclosing agreements here that do not take a cut of overseas spending.

The issuer's other agreements

Virginia Federal Credit Union has 15 agreements indexed on this site.

What you cannot learn from the filing

Absent from the captured terms: a purchase rate and penalty pricing. The original document is the place to look for any of these.

What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.

Where the authority sits

This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — four pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.

In short

Extraction confidence here is not high, so the conclusions above are provisional on the PDF agreeing with them.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Virginia Federal Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Virginia Federal Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Virginia Federal Credit Union

Other cards from Virginia Federal Credit Union

All 15 agreements from Virginia Federal Credit Union

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.