Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Virginia Federal Credit Union

credit card agreement September

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Before you read the numbers.

The only purchase rate this filing states is a promotional one. The rate that applies after the promotional period is not disclosed in this document, and it is the more important of the two.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for credit card agreement September
Introductory APR1.99%
Annual fee$0
Late payment feeup to $35
Foreign transaction feeNone
Cash advance feeNone
Balance transfer feeNone
Grace period25 days
Minimum interest charge$0
NetworkMastercard

Analysis

The credit card agreement September filing from Virginia Federal Credit Union sets out no annual fee and a 1.99% introductory rate.

On the face of the filing

The document behind this page is Virginia Federal Credit Union's filed agreement for credit card agreement September. It is issued on the Mastercard network and the filing runs four pages.

The disclosure covers an annual fee line, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. No figure appears for a purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate.

Parsing confidence here is medium, so treat the figures as indicative of the filing rather than a substitute for it.

What the promotional rate is worth

The filing discloses an introductory rate of 1.99% but no term for it.

Among the 763 filings here that disclose an introductory rate, 1.99% sits at about the 66th percentile.

The filing captures the promotional rate but not the rate that replaces it. That is the more important of the two numbers, and it is not on this page — the agreement itself has to be read for it.

The grace period

25 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing.

The filing sets the minimum interest charge at zero — small balances are not rounded up to a floor.

When a payment is late

The maximum late fee is $35 — roughly the 54th percentile of the late fee ceilings disclosed across this index.

Fees, and what triggers them

There is no annual fee. That is the common case in this corpus — about 75% of the filings that disclose an annual fee at all disclose it as $0 — so it is a baseline expectation rather than a distinguishing feature.

No foreign transaction fee is charged, which puts this filing in the roughly 22% of disclosing agreements here that do not take a cut of overseas spending.

Against the rest of Virginia Federal Credit Union's filings

This is one of 15 Virginia Federal Credit Union agreements collected here.

What the filing does not tell you

The disclosure parsed here does not state a purchase rate and penalty pricing. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

More broadly, a CFPB agreement filing is a legal and pricing document. It does not describe rewards, benefits, sign-up offers, eligibility or approval criteria, and nothing of that kind has been inferred on this page. Where a card has features of that sort, they live outside this document entirely.

Where the authority sits

The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs four pages. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.

In short

Extraction confidence here is not high, so the conclusions above are provisional on the PDF agreeing with them.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Virginia Federal Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Virginia Federal Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Virginia Federal Credit Union

Other cards from Virginia Federal Credit Union

All 15 agreements from Virginia Federal Credit Union

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.