Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Chase Bank USA

United Club Visa Signature Agreement

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for United Club Visa Signature Agreement
Balance transfer APR16.49%
Cash advance APR24.99%
Penalty APR29.99%
Annual fee$525
Late payment feeup to $40
Foreign transaction feeNone
Cash advance feeEither $10 or 5% of the amount of each transaction, whichever is greater.
Balance transfer feeEither $5 or 5% of the amount of each transfer, whichever is greater.
Minimum interest charge$0
NetworkVisa

Analysis

The COL00080 United Club Visa Signature Agreement filing from Chase Bank USA sets out a $525 annual fee and a 29.99% penalty rate.

The disclosed terms

Chase Bank USA filed this agreement for COL00080 United Club Visa Signature Agreement with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. The filing runs 21 pages, and It is issued on the Visa network.

On the record here: a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. No figure appears for a purchase rate and a grace period.

Confidence in the parse of this filing is moderate rather than high, so the figures below are best checked against the original.

Penalty pricing and late fees

If the account defaults, the filing permits a rate of 29.99%. Among disclosing agreements here that ranks near the 61st percentile.

Late payments are capped at $40 under this filing, about the 72nd percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.

Charges beyond interest

The annual fee is $525, charged whether or not the card is used. Against the filings here that disclose a fee, that sits at roughly the 99th percentile.

Taking cash against the card means a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 24.99%. Advances under roughly $200 are charged the flat $10; larger ones are charged 5%.

Balance transfers cost $5 or 5% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater up front and then accrue at 16.49%. Transferring $2,000 would cost roughly $100 at the door.

Foreign transactions carry no fee. Only about 22% of the filings here that disclose a foreign transaction fee set it at zero, so this is a genuine point of difference.

The no-interest path

No minimum interest charge is imposed, so a cycle that accrues a few cents of interest is billed a few cents.

The issuer's other agreements

25 separate Chase Bank USA filings appear in the corpus.

Among the issuer's other filings that disclose a fee, 19 of 22 come in below this card's $525.

What you cannot learn from the filing

Absent from the captured terms: a purchase rate and a grace period. The original document is the place to look for any of these.

It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.

Where the authority sits

The original filing, 21 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.

In short

The $525 annual fee is charged regardless of use, so it is a cost that applies even to an account that never revolves. All of this rests on figures read from the filing with less than full confidence, which is reason enough to check the document before relying on any of it.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Chase Bank USA filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Chase Bank USA, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Chase Bank USA

Other cards from Chase Bank USA

All 25 agreements from Chase Bank USA

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.