Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

Michigan Schools and Government Credit Union

VISA Credit Card Disclosure

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 14.5%–22.25%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for VISA Credit Card Disclosure
Purchase APR14.5%–22.25% (variable)
Balance transfer APR9.75%
Cash advance APR9.75%
Annual fee$0
Late payment feeup to $25
Foreign transaction fee1%
Cash advance feeNone
Balance transfer feeNone
Grace period25 days
Minimum interest charge$0
NetworkVisa

Analysis

On the record for VISA Credit Card Disclosure: a purchase APR of 14.5%–22.25% and no annual fee, filed by Michigan Schools and Government Credit Union. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 51st percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.

What the document actually states

Michigan Schools and Government Credit Union submitted the terms for VISA Credit Card Disclosure to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs seven pages.

The disclosure covers a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. A penalty rate is not stated.

The purchase APR against the corpus

The purchase APR is quoted as a range of 14.5% to 22.25%. That 7.75-point spread is the whole of what the filing commits to; the method for assigning a rate inside it is not in the document.

The floor of that band sits at about the 30th percentile of filed purchase rates; the ceiling sits at about the 51st. In corpus terms the same card can be cheap or expensive depending on how it is priced.

The agreement labels the purchase rate variable, so the quoted figure reflects the index at the time of filing rather than a locked-in price.

What the rate means in dollars

The purchase rate turns a $1,000 revolving balance into roughly $249 of annual interest.

The median purchase rate across the corpus is 21.99%; the same balance there would cost about $246. The gap — roughly $3 a year on $1,000 — is the price of this particular filing over a typical one.

That maths assumes a static balance and nothing else — no payments, no additional purchases, no fees folded in.

The no-interest path

Purchases carry a 25-day grace period: pay the statement in full inside it and the purchase rate never applies.

The filing sets the minimum interest charge at zero — small balances are not rounded up to a floor.

The downside terms

On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $25, which is around the 32nd percentile here.

What the card costs before you borrow

There is no annual fee. That is the common case in this corpus — about 75% of the filings that disclose an annual fee at all disclose it as $0 — so it is a baseline expectation rather than a distinguishing feature.

Taking cash against the card means a cash advance APR of 9.75%.

The filing discloses a 9.75% balance transfer rate without an accompanying fee figure.

Foreign transactions attract 1%. On $2,000 of overseas spending that is $20, charged on top of whatever exchange rate applies.

The issuer's other agreements

Michigan Schools and Government Credit Union has 4 agreements indexed on this site. Across that lineup purchase rates span 20.5% to 21.75%; this filing's 22.25% sits above 3 of the comparable ones.

What you cannot learn from the filing

This page cannot tell you penalty pricing, because the filing's disclosure table as read does not contain it.

It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.

Go to the source

This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — seven pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.

In short

The pricing here is middling by the standards of the index — 22.25% on purchases is near enough to typical. With no annual fee, the cost of the account is entirely a function of whether a balance is carried.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Michigan Schools and Government Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by Michigan Schools and Government Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to Michigan Schools and Government Credit Union

Other cards from Michigan Schools and Government Credit Union

All 4 agreements from Michigan Schools and Government Credit Union

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.