Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

San Diego County Credit Union

Application and Solicitation Disclosure

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 16.24%–22.24%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Before you read the numbers.

This document covers more than one card product in a single disclosure table. Figures shown may belong to a sibling product rather than to this one. Check the filing before relying on any individual number.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Application and Solicitation Disclosure
Purchase APR16.24%–22.24% (variable)
Balance transfer APR20.24%
Cash advance APR20.24%
Annual fee$99
Late payment feeup to $10
Foreign transaction feeNone
Cash advance feeEither $1.00 or 2.00% of the amount of each
Balance transfer feeEither $1.00 or 2.00% of the amount of each
Grace period25 days
NetworkVisa

Analysis

San Diego County Credit Union's filed agreement for Application and Solicitation Disclosure discloses a purchase APR of 16.24%–22.24% and a $99 annual fee. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 51st percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.

What the document actually states

San Diego County Credit Union submitted the terms for Application and Solicitation Disclosure to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs two pages.

The filing is explicit about a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. No figure appears for a penalty rate.

The filing bundles multiple products into one disclosure table. Any figure quoted here may describe a related card in the same filing, so the PDF should be read before treating these numbers as this card's own.

The purchase APR against the corpus

The purchase APR is quoted as a range of 16.24% to 22.24%. That 6-point spread is the whole of what the filing commits to; the method for assigning a rate inside it is not in the document.

The floor of that band sits at about the 40th percentile of filed purchase rates; the ceiling sits at about the 51st. In corpus terms the same card can be cheap or expensive depending on how it is priced.

The filing marks this rate as variable, which means it moves with the index the agreement names rather than staying where it is quoted today.

The arithmetic of revolving

The purchase rate turns a $3,000 revolving balance into roughly $747 of annual interest.

A card priced at the corpus median of 21.99% would charge roughly $738 on that balance. This one charges about $9 more per year.

Per statement cycle that is on the order of $55.33 on $3,000, which is the number that actually shows up on a bill.

These figures are arithmetic on the disclosed rate, not a quote: they assume the balance is never reduced, ignore any payments, and take no account of fees charged separately.

Charges beyond interest

The annual fee is $99, charged whether or not the card is used. Against the filings here that disclose a fee, that sits at roughly the 93rd percentile.

For scale, $99 is approximately what $445 of revolving balance would cost in interest over twelve months at this card's 22.24% rate.

For cash advances the filing discloses a cash advance fee of $1 or 2% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 20.24%. $50 is the crossover point where the percentage overtakes the $1 minimum. Cash advances also tend to fall outside any grace period, which means interest typically starts on day one rather than at the end of a billing cycle.

Balance transfers cost $1 or 2% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater up front and then accrue at 20.24%. On $2,000 that fee is about $40 before any interest is charged.

No foreign transaction fee is charged, which puts this filing in the roughly 22% of disclosing agreements here that do not take a cut of overseas spending.

Penalty pricing and late fees

Late payments are capped at $10 under this filing, about the 6th percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.

The grace period

25 days is the disclosed grace period for purchases — the interval in which paying in full costs nothing.

What is outside the disclosure

The disclosure parsed here does not state penalty pricing. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.

Against the rest of San Diego County Credit Union's filings

This is one of 7 San Diego County Credit Union agreements collected here. The issuer's own range is 22.24%–23.99%. At 22.24%, this agreement is dearer than 0 of its siblings.

Its $99 annual fee is higher than 0 of the 4 sibling filings that state one.

The document itself

This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — two pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.

In short

At 22.24% the purchase rate is close to ordinary for this corpus; nothing in the rate table sets this filing far apart from its peers. Note that the $99 annual fee falls due whether the card is used or not. The multi-product table is the larger caveat: these numbers are the table's, not necessarily this card's.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement San Diego County Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by San Diego County Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to San Diego County Credit Union

Other cards from San Diego County Credit Union

All 7 agreements from San Diego County Credit Union

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.