Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 15.74%–29.74% (variable) |
|---|---|
| Introductory APR | 0% for 12 months |
| Balance transfer APR | 20.74% |
| Cash advance APR | 27.74% |
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Late payment fee | up to $40 |
| Cash advance fee | The greater of $10.00 or 3% of the amount of each |
| Balance transfer fee | The greater of $10.00 or 3% of the amount of each |
| Grace period | 21 days |
| Minimum interest charge | $1 |
Analysis
Huntington Cashback Credit Card Terms and Conditions, as filed by Huntington National Bank, the, carries a purchase APR of 15.74%–29.74%, no annual fee and a 12-month 0% opening period. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 71st percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.
On the face of the filing
What follows is drawn entirely from Huntington National Bank, the's CFPB filing for Huntington Cashback Credit Card Terms and Conditions. The filing runs 18 pages.
The disclosure covers a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. A penalty rate and a foreign transaction fee are not stated.
What the promotional rate is worth
This agreement opens at 0% for 12 months, the only period in the document where carrying a balance is free.
About 458 agreements in this corpus carry a zero-percent opening rate; this is one of them.
Behind the promotion sits a 29.74% purchase rate. On $2,000 that is in the region of $692 a year once the window closes.
Put the other way round, the 12-month zero rate is worth roughly $692 on a $2,000 balance relative to paying the go-to rate from day one — a real figure, but one that only materialises for someone who was going to carry that balance anyway.
The purchase APR against the corpus
Rather than a single purchase rate, the document gives a band — 15.74% at the bottom, 29.74% at the top, 14 points wide. The agreement discloses the range without disclosing how an account is placed within it.
Read against the index, the low end ranks around the 37th percentile and the high end around the 71st — the band straddles a wide stretch of the market this corpus describes.
The agreement labels the purchase rate variable, so the quoted figure reflects the index at the time of filing rather than a locked-in price.
Translating the rate into money
Carry $2,500 on this card for a year without paying it down and the purchase rate alone generates roughly $865 in interest.
A card priced at the corpus median of 21.99% would charge roughly $615 on that balance. This one charges about $251 more per year.
These figures are arithmetic on the disclosed rate, not a quote: they assume the balance is never reduced, ignore any payments, and take no account of fees charged separately.
Charges beyond interest
There is no annual fee. That is the common case in this corpus — about 75% of the filings that disclose an annual fee at all disclose it as $0 — so it is a baseline expectation rather than a distinguishing feature.
Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of $10 or 3% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 27.74%. The two halves of that fee cross at about $333: below it the flat $10 applies, above it the percentage does.
Moving a balance onto this card carries an up-front charge of $10 or 3% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater, with the transferred balance priced at 20.74%. Transferring $5,000 would cost roughly $150 at the door.
Default pricing
On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $40, which is around the 72nd percentile here.
Grace period and minimum charge
Anyone clearing the statement balance inside 21 days pays no purchase interest at all under this filing. The typical filing here allows 25 days, so this one is tighter than most.
Where interest applies at all, the filing bills at least $1. On a tiny balance that floor can dwarf the rate itself.
Inside Huntington National Bank, the's filed lineup
Huntington National Bank, the has 38 agreements indexed on this site. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 12.24% to 30.74%, and this one at 29.74% is more expensive than 29 of them.
33 of the issuer's other 34 disclosing filings are likewise fee-free.
The limits of this document
The disclosure parsed here does not state a foreign transaction fee and penalty pricing. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.
Reading the agreement yourself
The original filing, 18 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.
In short
At 29.74% the purchase rate is close to ordinary for this corpus; nothing in the rate table sets this filing far apart from its peers.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Huntington National Bank, the filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Huntington National Bank, the, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Huntington National Bank, the
-
Voice Credit Card Terms and Conditions
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 15.74%–29.74%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0%
-
Huntington Cashback Credit Card Terms and Conditions
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 16.24%–30.24%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0%
-
Voice Credit Card Terms and Conditions
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 16.24%–30.24%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0%
-
cashback agree
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 14.99%–28.99%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.